

MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards finalists announced

Issued by Media Development and Diversity Agency

21 May 2014

Sanlam and the Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) have announced the finalists for the 2013 MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards following the conclusion of judging for both broadcast and print sections of the competition.

A total of 89 finalists have been selected from the 750 entries received for the 2013 Awards, with 64 for print and 24 in the broadcast section.

The finalists announced today exclude the following:

- The winner of the Rantho-Letsebe Award for Radio conferred in honour of Tshepo Rantho and Harry Mtshana Letsebe. Rantho and Letsebe were two of the pioneers of community media who, among other outstanding contributions, were at the forefront of the initial process leading to the Community Media 2000 Conference in 1995 and played a role in the development of the MDDA Act of 2002 and the MDDA Regulations;
- The winner of the Alet Roux Medal which is awarded to the most promising newcomer in the print section; and
- Entrants who receive special commendations from the judges in recognition of their efforts but do not win an award in their categories.

The winners will be announced at a gala event to present the Awards on Friday, May 23 at Birchwood Hotel and OR Tambo Conference Centre in Boksburg.

Says Sanlam's Head of Group Communications, Mr Ainsley Moos: "Sanlam and the MDDA congratulate the finalists and express our gratitude to all the journalists and media organisations that support these awards by entering for the various categories.

"We recognise that the healthy competition and the success of the Awards are sustained by the enthusiastic participation and commitment to the Awards by the community media across South Africa. In return, we remain committed to providing the resources and the platform for these important Awards."

Acknowledging the judges, the CEO of the MDDA, Mr Lumko Mtimde says: "We have secured a great team of experienced individuals for the two panels of judges and we are also grateful to them for the sterling job they continue to do to ensure that there is rigorous and fair adjudication of the entries.

"These two teams give selflessly of their time and expertise and we acknowledge the very important role they play in maintaining the integrity of the Awards and providing feedback that is so critical for the advancement of community media in our country."

Mtimde and Moos said they looked forward to presenting the winners and the two sponsors, Sanlam and the MDDA were currently busy preparing for a significant celebration of the best in community journalism on May 23.

The finalists are listed below.

PRINT FINALISTS

AWARD	Finalists
WRITING AWARDS	
Hard News:	DesireéRorke (TygerBurger)
	Zita Goldswain (Witbank News)
	Anoeschka von Meck (Knysna-Plet
	Herald)
Investigative Reporting:	
	Zita Goldswain (Witbank News)
	Tereasa Ferrari (Lowvelder/Laevelder)
	Susanna Oosthuizen(Lowvelder/Laevelder)
Human Interest	
numan interest	Michelle Linnert (TygerBurger)
	AndréBakkes(TygerBurger)
	Carl Collison (The Capetowner)
Sport	
	Peter Martin (Go! & Express)
	Quintin van Jaarsveld (South Coast
	Fever and Upper Coast Fever)
	Ettienne van Rensburg (Vaalweekblad)
Columns	
	Avuyile Mgxitana-Diko(Grocott's Mail)
	Norman McFarlane (Bolander)
	Desiree Erasmus (South Coast Fever)
Personal Finance	No finalists
PHOTOGRAPHY	INO III Idiists
News	Dalaan Naudá (Middalhura Ohaanyar)
News	Daleen Naudé (Middelburg Observer) Adele Louw (Carletonville Herald)
	Michelle Linnert(TygerBurger)
	Wildriche Elimera Tyger Bargery
General Interest	
	Claudine Senekal (Ladysmith Herald)
	Evan Naudé (Weslander)
Sport	
	Mario van de Wall (Potchefstroom Herald)
	Angelo Kalmeyer(Cape Community
	Newspapers)
	Sifiso Mathebula (Echo and Ridge
	Times)
Features and Portraits	
	Lynda Greyling (Maluti News)
	Angelo Kalmeyer(Cape Community
	Newspapers) Herman Steyn(Die Pos/The Post)
and the second s	
Press Photographer of the	e
Press Photographer of the Year	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post)
	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post)
	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post) Carina Roux (TygerBurger)
Year	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post) Carina Roux (TygerBurger)
Year	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post) Carina Roux (TygerBurger) Lazarus Dithagiso(Scdibeng Ster) Zita Goldswain (Witbank News) Daleen Naudé(Middelburg Observer)
Year	Herman Steyn (Die Pos/The Post) Carina Roux (TygerBurger) Lazarus Dithagiso(Scdibeng Ster) Zita Goldswain (Witbank News)

	BEST FRONT PAGES: Community/Grassroots	
1	Community/Grassroots Media:	
		Upstart - Youth Development Project
		Greater Alex Today North West on Sunday
		North West on Sunday
	Small Independent emerging	
	newspapers (2-5 years):	
	Emerging	Zithethele
		Eastern Timesinc Northern Times
		Metro News
	Small Independent	
	established newspapers (5	
	years+): Established	
		EzaKwazulu
		Seipone
		Witzenberg Herald
	Corporate-owned Free	
	Sheets	Port Elizabeth Express Indaba
		The WalmerSun
		Corridor Gazette
	Corporate-owned Paid	
	papers	
	70 PV	
		Worcester Standard Paarl Post
		Lowvelder/Laevelder
	BEST NEWSPAPERS:	
	COMMUNITY/GRASSROOTS:	Ikamva Lase Gcuwa
		Greater Alex Today
		iDike-lethu News
	INDEPENDENT EMERGING	
	(2-5 YEARS)/INDEPENDENT ESTABLISHED (5 YEARS	
	PLUS)	
	Small Independent Emerging	
	Newspapers (2-5 years)	Zithathala
		Zithethele Khanyisa
		Eastern Times inc Northern Times
	Constitution and and	
	Small Independent Established Newspapers	
	(5 years+)	
		Grocott's Mail
		Limpopo Mirror
		FranschhoekTatler
	Corporate-owned Free	
	Sheets	
		Tabletalk
		TygerBurger (Bellville)
	PAID NEWSPAPERS	TygerBurger(Tableview)
	Hultzer Trophy	Mpumalanga News
		Polokwane Observer
		The Rep
	Cronwright Trophy	
		Lowvelder/Laevelder
		District Mail
		Paarl Post
		radiirust

BROADCAST FINALISTS

CATEGORY	STATION/ENTRANT /FINALIST
Best Community Radio	Radio Riverside
	Namaqualand FM (NFM)
Excellence in Investigative Journalism (Radio)	VaaltarFM (MoalosiLepoletse)
	Radio Khwezi(Nothile Zwane)
Excellence in Indigenous Languages	Radio Khwezi(Saziso Dlamini)
(Radio)	Radio Riverside (ThabangPusoyabone)
Excellence in In-depth Coverage and Current Affairs (Radio)	Radio Riverside (ThabangPusoyabone)
	Radio Islam (Yusuf Moosagie)
Best Educational Magazine Show	Alex FM (KabeloKehalotse)
(Radio)	TUT FM (MokgethiMokoena)
Best Indigenous Music Programme (Radio)	Alex FM (Andries Mashaba)
	Vaaltar FM (David Mmokwa)
	Radio Khwezi (Saziso Dlamini)

CATEGORY	STATION/ENTRANT /FINALIST	
Best Business Show (Radio)	Chai FM (Avi Kaye)	
A Barring Michigan Samuration of Historian Conference (%)	Alex FM (KabeloKehalotse)	
Best Drama (Radio)	Radio Riverside	
	(ThabangPusoyabone)	
	Radio Khwezi (MakhosiMaphumulo)	
Best Educational Magazine Show (TV)	The Media Workshop (Marius Roodt)	
	Cape TV (EkSêprogramme)	
Best Sport Magazine Show (Radio and TV)	Bay FM (LuvuyoStar Nyembezi)	
	Alex FM (Timothy Mulovhedzi)	
Best Children's Programme (Radio	Alex FM (Michael Shabangu)	
and TV)	Radio Khwezi (Makhosi Maphumulo)	
	Radio Khwezi (Makhosi Maphumulo)	

- Deadline looms for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards entries for 2014 23 Jan 2015
- " MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards entries for 2014 now open 26 Nov 2014
- * Entries open for MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards 25 Nov 2014
- " Mandla Langa acknowledges 20 years of media freedom and diversity 28 May 2014
- * MDDA-Sanlam Local Media Awards winners announced 27 May 2014

Media Development and Diversity Agency



mdda ?? The Media Development and Diversity Agency (MDDA) is a statutory development agency for promoting and ensuring media development and diversity.

Profile | News | Contact | Twitter | Facebook | RSS Feed