

Zain presents ATBU team with prizes in int'l comp

BAUCHI: Zain Nigeria presented prizes to the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University and its team that represented the country in the 32nd international inter-university Zain Africa Challenge: Battle of Brains organised by Zain.



ATBU was one of the five Universities that emerged through the Zain Challenge National Qualifier Tournament which featured several Nigerian universities. Others included the University of Ibadan, University of Lagos, University of Nigeria, Nsukka, and Federal University of Technology, Akure.

The University of Ibadan and University of Lagos are the only Nigeria-based institutions left in the ongoing competition which has been dominated in the past by universities from Kenya.

The prize presentation ceremony was held at the university campus in Bauchi and was attended by the vice chancellor, Professor Muhammad Hamisu Muhammad and other principal officials of the university including the deputy vice chancellor (administration), Professor Alhassan Muhammad Ghani; the registrar, Deacon Joe .I. Shaibu, JP; director of physical planning unit, Arc Habu Yusuf Abba; dean, School of Environmental Technology, Professor Abudullahi Umar; and dean of student affairs, Dr Shafiu Mustapha.

Others from the university who were present at the event included deputy registrar (PR) Andee Iheme; deputy registrar students affairs, Alhaji Aminu Tukur; director of Institute of Communication Technology Centre, Mallam Sani Ali; and senior assistant registrar (PR), Kabiru Garba Aminu.

Zain was represented by its public relations manager, Emmanuel Otokhine; corporate social responsibility team head, Chinda Manjor; North East regional sales team comprising Ali Wali, Benedict Adoyi, and Kumar Abubakar.

Speaking at the ceremony in Bauchi, Otokhine commended the university for the good conduct of the team during the international Battle of Brain festival in Kampala, Uganda.

The ABTU team comprised of Mark Paul Amaza - Electrical Engineering Department, Jennifer Okhianosen Osuide -

Industrial Chemistry Department, Victor Olabode Otitolaiye, and Hashim Nuhu Yaqub - Industrial Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Department respectively.

Each member of the university team was given cash prizes, followed by the team liaison and dean of students affairs, Dr Shafiu Mustapha. The coach and leader of the team, Professor Michael Osarenogowu Agho was also posthumously rewarded with a cash prize. He died recently, after the team were removed from the competition.

The university was presented with an educational grant: computer system, router, and CISCO catalyst switch as well as with a Zain Africa Challenge trophy.

Over US\$1,000,000 has been devoted to cash prizes, travel grants and educational grant for the participating team drawn from 32 Universities across West, East and Southern Africa where Zain operates. In line with the rules of the game, the value of prizes received by a participating team, coach and liaison and their university is determined by how far the group progress in the competition.

The pan-African academic game show is broadcast on national television in the various countries where Zain operates in Africa. It is on air in Nigeria every Monday between 6.30pm - 7.00pm on Nigeria Television Authority (NTA) and DSTV Channel 130 and on Africa Independent Television (AIT) and DSTV Channel 132 every Tuesday between 7.30pm and 8.00pm (19.30 - 20.00 GMT).

The Zain Africa Challenge is an academic programme that covers topics such as science, technology, history, African culture, geography, literature, sports, arts, music and current events.

The show consists of three rounds of face-off questions during which each member of the participating teams has the opportunity to face each other, and a 'Speedy Round', the 500 points Ultimate Challenge where the teams have a final chance to win. The rounds are interspersed with video clips of educational opportunities at African universities, interviews with leading figures in the participating institutions, student profiles, and corporate social responsibility activities in the countries.

To be eligible for selection, a university must be government chartered or accredited, be in third year of intake (or later), and should have at least 250 enrolled students.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com