BIZCOMMUNITY

FCJ Excellence Awards: 2019 finalists announced!

The Forum of Community Journalists (FCJ) has announced all the finalists for the 2019 FCJ Excellence Awards.



© <u>123RF.com</u>

These journalists and newspapers will be recognised for work published during 2018. Finalists will shortly receive an invitation to the awards gala dinner to be held at Leriba Hotel and Spa in Centurion on 19 July 2019.

The competition was judged by seasoned veterans of the newspaper and community news industry. The writing, newspaper of the year and front page of the year categories were judged by Dr Thalyta Swanepoel, (convener of judges from the North-West University), Cornia Pretorius (NWU), Joe Thloloe (former press ombudsman), Virginia Keppler (Vrye Weekblad, former bureau chief: The Citizen), André Gouws (NWU online lecturer and former Beeld reporter) and Tarina Coetzee (former chief sub-editor at the Citizen and typography editor at Media24).

All photography categories were judged by Roger Sedres, Leon Muller and Sharief Jaffer.

The finalists are:

Photography

<u>General</u>

Michelle Pienaar, *George Herald* Ronald Sibiya, *Pretoria Rekord* Taylor Meyer, *Village News* Zita Goldswain, *Witbank News*

<u>News</u>

Bianca du Plessis, *Hermanus Times* Carina Roux, *Tygerburger* JP Myburg, *Klerksdorp* San Marie Cronje, *Ridge Times*

<u>Sport</u>

Blake Linder, *Knysna Plett Herald* Carina Roux, *Tygerburger* Elsje Vermeulen, *Vaalweekblad* Ettienne van Rensburg, *Vaalweekblad* Hugo Redelinghuys, *George Herald*

Photographer of the Year

Carina Roux, *Tygerburger* Elsje Vermeulen, *Vaalweekblad* Salome Kotze, *Klerksdorp Rekord*

Writing

Digital reporting

Kristy Kolberg, *George Herald* Sibonele Mtshali, *Southern Courier*

Headlines

Bertus de Bruyn, *Letaba Herald* Dalene Naude, *Middelburg Observer* Danie Jacobs, *Klerksdorp Record* Hannes Visser, *Oudtshoorn Courant* Kristy Kolberg, *George Herald* Mariette Strydom, *Boland Media* Murray Stewart, *The Village News* Pieter Delport, *Bloemfontein Courant* Wouter Pienaar, *Potchefstroom Herald Z*ita Goldswain, *Witbank News*

Editorial Comment

Daleen Fouche, *Hermanus Times* De Waal Steyn, *The Village News* Gerhard Rheeder, *Middelburg Observer* Hennie Stander, *Potchefstroom Herald* Joline van der Merwe, *Weslander* Keina Swart, *Die Pos* Lerato Serero, *Sedibeng Ster* Marlene Jordaan, *Worcester Standard* Tasmin Cupido, *District Mail* Tobie van den Bergh, *Middelburg Observer*

<u>Columns</u>

Daleen Naude, *Middelburg Observer* Hannes Visser, *Oudtshoorn Courant* Hedda Mittner, *The Village News* Johnny Masilela, *Die Pos* Keina Swart, *Die Pos* Lana O'Neil, *Benoni City Times* Lise Beyers, *Paarl Post* Murray Stewart, *The Village News* Nielen de Klerk, *Tygerburger*

<u>Sport</u>

Daleen Naude, *Middelburg Observer* Frank Mavhungo, *Limpopo Mirror* Hugo Redelinghuys, *George Herald* Murphy Roberts, *Weskus Nuus* Nasifa Sulaiman, *Worcester Standard* Samantha Lee, *People's Post* Tandy-Lee Marinus, *Paarl Post* Tasmin Cupido, *District Mail* Wouter Pienaar, *Potchefstroom Herald*

Human Interest

Andries van Zyl, Zoutpansberger/Limpopo Mirror Daleen Naude, Middelburg Observer Elaine Davie, The Village News JP Myburg, Klerksdorp Record Kgotsofalang Mashilo, Germiston City News Lientjie Mentz, Bloemnuus Monique Basson, Kouga Express Nielen de Klerk, Tygerburger Summer Jacobs, Table Talk Trish Goosen, Weslander

Investigative Reporting

Andries van Zyl, Zoutpansberger/Limpopo Mirror Anton van Zyl, Zoutpansberger/Limpopo Mirror

Hard News

Andries van Zyl, Zoutpansberger/Limpopo Mirror Daleen Naude, Middelburg Observer Desiree Rorke, Tygerburger Elmon Tshikhudo, Limpopo Mirror Gerhard Rheeder, Middelburg Observer Kristy Kolberg, George Herald Liam Ngobeni, Rekord Samantha Lee, People's Post Selogile Leshage, Potchefstroom Herald Trish Goosen, Weslander

Journalist of the Year finalists

Andries Van Zyl, Zoutpansberger

Arisa Janse van Rensburg, *Laevelder* Daleen Naude, *Middelburg Observer* Desiree Rorke, *Tygerburger* Hazel Allies-Husselman, *Athlone Bulletin News* Kristy Kolberg, *George Herald* Liam Ngobeni, *Pretoria-Moot Rekord* Marinette Hay, *Vrystaat Nuus* Michelle Pienaar, *George Herald* Ronel van Jaarsveld, *Die Pos* Samantha Lee, *People's Post* Selogile Leshage, *Potchefstroom Herald* Tamlynne Thompson, *Capetowner* Teresa Dias, *Laevelder* Zita Goldswain, *Witbank News*

Front pages

Independent commercial newspapers Far North Bulletin

Kokstad Advertiser The Village News

<u>Corporate-owned free newspapers</u> Idinga Sedibeng Ster The Beat

<u>Corporate-owned paid newspapers</u> George Herald Potchefstroom Herald South Cape Forum

Newspaper of the year

Independent commercial newspapers Far North Bulletin

The Village News Zoutpansberger

Corporate-owned free newspapers

Bedfordview and Edenvale News Benoni City Times Bloemnuus Germiston City News Joburg East Express Krugersdorp News/Nuus Northcliff and Melville Times Randburg Sun Roodepoort Northsider

Corporate-owned paid newspapers

African Reporter

Die Pos Eikestad Nuus Hermanus Times Letaba Herald Lowvelder

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com